Look Toned In Any Picture Instantly!

23 Nov

Good Morning Everyone!

Whew! It’s been a crazy week, no? I know I am not the only one feeling the stress of the holidays a little early this year.  Yesterday, I returned from a 5 day cruise to Mexico with my wonderful new fiance’ (living the hard life). In addition to celebrating a friend’s beautiful nuptials on the beach in Cozumel, it was such a great way to get away from it all and to remember just how small you are while looking out onto that massive body of water. However, if you have ever been on a cruise, you know exactly what I mean when I say that the food will find you… and then relentlessly proceed to destroy you.

This very concept is what forced me back to my early modeling roots this past week while trying to capture every picturesque moment on film (or digital… ugh. Don’t get me started on our gluttonous, technology-filled world… that I happen to completely buy into). In between the eggs benedict with bacon and the NY strip loin sandwich with brie from 2am room service, I found my stomach just too darn full to confidently snap those staple bikini shots that frequented my high school “Spring Break 2004” scrapbook. My options at this point were: 1. Don’t take any pictures with my fiance’ in Mexico (ha!), 2. Be stressed about looking okay in pictures that I KNOW will end up saturating the ever-present facebook news feed, or 3. Figure it out. Well, I wasn’t raised to skip out on photo ops or be stressed on a vacation, so I decided to adapt to my buffet-rich environment with this tried and true tip:

When taking a “friends” picture (you know the type… line up, hands behind each other’s back, small girls in front…. cheese!), take a rest from this year’s holiday feast and chew on this instead. Our natural body posture when taking these pictures is to hug your friends close, suck in your stomach, and hope for the best. However, this combo ends up adding a few lbs in 2-D. Sucking in your stomach actually just brings the tension up into your shoulders and neck. When we glance at a picture, we naturally look at the face, neck and shoulders first. Then, comes the subconscious judgement: “Oh she looks great!” or “Hmmm, maybe she should ‘un-tag’ herself in that one.” (Don’t try to be a saint– we are all guilty of this). To avoid that second thought more often, try relaxing your shoulders by taking a deep breath, letting it all out, and rolling your shoulders back away from your chest. This elongates your neck and gives you a more slender look at first glance. Try it out! I assure you that you will be pleased 🙂

Feel free to let us know of any tips or tricks you’ve known to work well over the years in the comments section! We would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

